Joy Elliott

Joy’s and Toby’s Ministry

If I had known

Just some thoughts. If someone had told many years ago that this is what my life would be like today. You know what my response would be seriously. I would have said well I’m leaving it in Gods hands to decide what my life is going to be like. Yes I have free choice. I have a choice how I respond to the mountains God has me climb. I know when I was born God gave me a tool box and my Heavenly Father equipped me with all the tools I need for the life he has planned for me. My Heavenly Father gave me a sense of humor because he knew I would need it to get through life. I’m so very very Blessed I have a wonderful life. It is all the good and bad the pain , struggles , heart breaks, the love and JOYS that made me who I’m. That’s life here on earth. I know my Heavenly Father is holding my hand through it all and crying and lots of laughing right with me. Would I have done things differently yes maybe so I would have camped on the ground more if I had known I was going to have Muscular Dystrophy. As I can’t get up and down off the ground and I love tent camping. I would have gone hiking in the woods more. I now also have whole body Complex Regional Pain Syndrome. It makes my body feel like I’m on fire 24/7 . But you know the CRPS was a Blessing is so many ways. While in PT I meet a young man who was paralyzed from the waist down. He had caught his leg on fire didn’t feel it. I thought Praise God ! I can feel I’m on fire. Also my CRPS ended up with me traveling from Virginia to Cleveland Clinic in Ohio. Where Drs decided I didn’t have Parkinson Disease. Here I was taking 21 pills a day for Parkinson and scheduled for DBS surgery! See God knows what he is doing. Also now I have great CRPS and Muscular Dystrophy Drs in Cleveland that I travel to see every few months. It is what it is. Neither the CRPS or the MD will change. The MD is a progressive muscle disease and mine is progressing. God prepared me for the MD.

When I was 10 years old I was watching the Jerry Lewis Labor Day Telethon. The Holy Spirit spoke to me. I began having carnivals and raising money for muscular dystrophy at age 10. Now here I’m 58 years old and still raising money for muscular dystrophy. Yes I have been out every year around Labor Day since I was 10 years old collecting money for muscular dystrophy. I usually go out with the Fire Fighters. This year again I will be out with our local Fire Fighter Filling the Boot for Muscular Dystrophy . So if you see a Fire Fighter put with a Boot please drop your change in all your buckles dimes and quarters add up. We have loss to many children to MD

One thing for sure The Holy Spirit knew I was going to develop Muscular Dystrophy and he gave me the tools I needed back when I was 10 ! See I have the tools in my tool box already. God is so good to me. He also made me hard headed and determined lol

Find the Blessing in Your Day !

Love Hugs and Prays

Toby and Joy

3 comments on “If I had known

  1. Karen Smith
    August 21, 2018

    Beautifully written. Full of positive statements. You truly have the gift of the Holy Spirit. Thank you for sharing. You may want to take these blogs and put them into a book. They are very insightful.

    • joyelliott
      August 21, 2018

      Thank you so much

    • joyelliott
      August 21, 2018

      I will be editing it soon as I realize I left out a few things soon as I take Toby out!

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on August 21, 2018 by .